Washington State Social Studies Cadre of Trainers
LanguagesA-Z IndexPrinter Friendly Image
Search
 



If you have further questions
about Social Studies education, contact:

Carol Coe, Social Studies
Program Supervisor
carol.coe@k12.wa.us
(360) 725-6351

 

Social Studies

Washington State Social Studies Cadre of Educators

The Social Studies Cadre, established in 2010, consists of approximately 30 educators (a minimum of three per ESD) who have both teaching experience and expertise in social studies education.


The Social Studies Cadre of Washington State is currently accepting applications for open positions. Applications received by June 30, 2015 will be reviewed in July. When a position has been filled, it will be removed from this list:

  • ESD 101 – 1 Elementary, 1 High School
  • ESD 112 – 1 Middle School, 1 High School
  • ESD 113 – 1 Elementary, 1 K–12
  • ESD 114 – 1 Elementary, 1 High School
  • ESD 123 – 1 Elementary, 1 Middle School
  • ESD 171 – 1 K–12
  • ESD 189 – 1 Elementary

Apply

Purpose
The Cadre reviews and revises statewide social studies resources and materials, specifically focusing on:

  • Washington State Social Studies Learning Standards: the Essential Academic Learning Requirements (EALRs) and Grade Level Expectations (GLEs);
  • OSPI-developed classroom-based assessments; and
  • Intentional connections with the Common Core State Standards for English Language Arts & Literacy in History/Social Studies.

The Cadre delivers workshops at statewide conferences and through local or regional trainings for teachers. These workshops address connections between social studies instruction and content and the Common Core State Standards for ELA & Literacy in History/Social Studies.

Note: OSPI does not compensate Cadre members for trainings other than those arranged by OSPI for statewide professional development. If Cadre members receive training requests from individual school districts or from regional partners, it is the responsibility of Cadre members and their schools or districts to negotiate these requests. If ESDs or individual districts request training support from Cadre members, they will be expected to negotiate compensation of the Cadre member for expenses such as preparation time, substitute coverage, mileage, meals, lodging, and materials costs.

Click on map to view regional contacts

Elementary

Middle

High

K-12

Debbie Blodgett-Goins
Yakima School District
blodgett-goins.debbie@yakimaschools.org
(509) 985-8462

Julie Conkle
Tonasket School District
jconkle@tonasket.wednet.edu
(509) 486-4933

Karen Morley-Smith
Evergreen Public Schools
karen.morleysmith@evergreenps.org
(360) 604-6900

Nancy Lenihan
Sumner School District
nancy_lenihan@sumner.wednet.edu
(253) 891-4500

Ben Suhrbier
Winlock School District
mailto:bsuhrbier@winlock.wednet.edu
(360) 785-3046 ex. 2193

Bryan Dibble
Selah School District
bryandibble@selah.k12.wa.us
(509) 697-0500

Dawn Wood
Wenatchee School District
wood.d@wenatcheeschools.org
(509) 663-7171

Eric Roal
Central Valley School District
eroal@cvsd.org
(509) 228-4700

Jerry Price
Yelm School District
jerry_price@ycs.wednet.edu
(360) 458-1100

Ronald Baltazar
Puyallup School District
baltazra@puyallup.k12.wa.us
(253) 841-8756

Steven Cross
Marysville School District
steven_cross@msvl.k12.wa.us
(360) 653-0850

Tim Kilgren
Union Gap School District
tkilgren@uniongap.org
(509) 248-3966

Tricia Billes
Sequim School District
tbilles@sequim.k12.wa.us
(360) 582-3600

Eric Low
Winlock School District
Elow@winlock.wednet.edu
(360) 785-3537

Leslie Brown
Toppenish School District
lbrown@toppenish.wednet.edu
(509) 865-1119

Malia Renner-Singer
Cascade School District
mrenner@cascadesd.org
(509) 548-5277

Melissa Finn
Kent School District
melissa.finn@kent.k12.wa.us
(253) 373-4703

Steven Perez
Richland School District
steve.perez@rsd.edu
(509) 967-6500

Sue Metzler
Mukilteo School District
metzlersm@mukilteo.wednet.edu
(425) 356-1700

Lisa Roberts
North Mason School District
lroberts@northmasonschools.org
(360) 277-2104

Molly Berger
ESD 105
molly.berger@esd105.org
509-454-3114
Instructional Improvement
Coordinator

Ryan Theodoriches
Evergreen Public Schools
ryan.theodoriches@evergreenps.org
(360) 604-4000
Central Office

Tara Gray
Bellevue School District
grayt@bsd405.org
(425) 456-5800
Principal

Trish Henry
Mead School District
trish.henry@mead354.org
(509) 710-6770
K-12 EdTech and Media
Specialist

Victoria Mayers
Nooksack Tribal Program
vmayers@nooksack-nsn.gov
(360) 966-7704

Donnetta Elsasser
Touchet School District
elsasd@touchet.org
(509) 394-2352

 

 

Old Capitol Building, PO Box 47200, 600 Washington St. S.E., Olympia, WA  98504-7200  (360) 725-6000  TTY (360) 664-3631
Contact Us    |    A-Z Index    |    Site Info    |    Staff Only    |    Education Data System (EDS)