Educator Awards
LanguagesA-Z IndexPrinter Friendly Image

  For more information
  about Education Awards:

  Hilary Seidel



Education Awards

Title I Distinguished Schools Award Program — National and State

Six Title I, Part A schools are recipients of the 2017-2018 Title I, Part A Distinguished Schools Award. Two schools were selected for national recognition and three schools were selected for state recognition.

2017-18 Title I, Part A Distinguished Schools Recipients

National Distinguished Schools

Evergreen Elementary
Bethel School District
Jamie Burnett, Principal
Significant Progress in Closing Achievement Gap-ELA/Mathematics

Drum Intermediate
University Place School District
Maile Carr, Principal
Exceptional Student Progress-ELA/Mathematics

State Distinguished Schools

Leonard Jennings Elementary
Colfax School District
Travis Howell, Principal
Exceptional Student Progress-ELA/Mathematics

Garfield Elementary
Garfield School District
Zane Wells, Principal
Exceptional Student Progress-ELA/Mathematics

South Ridge Elementary
Ridgefield School District
Todd Graves, Principal
Exceptional Student Progress-ELA/Mathematics

Briarcrest Elementary
Shoreline Public Schools
Jonathan Nessan, Principal
Significant Progress in Closing Achievement Gap-ELA/Mathematics

Distinguished Schools Program Criteria

Schools chosen showed that they effectively used strategies in ELA and/or math which either

  • Category 1: Exceptional student performance for 2 or more years.
  • Category 2: Made significant progress towards closing the achievement gap between student groups. Or;
  • Category 3: Excellence in serving special populations of students.

Eligibility was based on Smarter Balanced Assessment for 2015 & 2016, based on student growth percentiles (SGP) and state average scores.

National winners will receive $10,000 and statewide recognition, and national winners will be honored at the 2017 National Title I, Part A Conference in Long Beach, CA Feb. 22–25, 2017. Statewide winners will receive $5,000 and statewide recognition.

Previous Winners

View Award Winners 2003 to 2017


Contact Larry Fazzari

   Updated 9/28/2017

Old Capitol Building, PO Box 47200, 600 Washington St. S.E., Olympia, WA    98504-7200    360-725-6000  TTY 360-664-3631
Contact Us    |    Site Info    |    Staff Only