Pilot Participants
LanguagesA-Z IndexPrinter Friendly Image


Teacher/Principal Evaluation Pilot

Pilot Participants

Pilot districts for the Teacher/Principal Evaluation Pilot were selected by a steering committee of representatives from OSPI, the Governor's office, WSPTA, WEA, AWSP, and WASA. The review committee then made its recommendations to Superintendent Dorn.

Districts were chosen based on a number of factors, including collaboration with local associations representing teachers and principals. Chosen districts also agreed that their pilots would include a number of activities, including:

  • Development of criteria for the evaluations
  • Identification of (or development of) appropriate multiple measures of student growth
  • Development of evaluation forms
  • Submission of evaluation data and all district collected student achievement, aptitude, and growth data regardless of whether the data are used in evaluations
  • Collaboration with other pilot districts, OSPI, the Governor's office, WSPTA, WEA, AWSP, and WASA during the pilot process

Districts will receive between $100,000 and about $180,000 a year for the two years of the pilot. Proposed budgets will be submitted in September 2010. Funding for the second year of the pilot will be contingent on funding being provided by the Legislature in the next biennial operating budget.
See District Allocations Chart (PDF).

Othello School District
Snohomish School District
Wenatchee School District
North Thurston Public Schools
North Mason School District
Kennewick School District
Central Valley School District
Anacortes School District

NorthEast Washington ESD 101
Almira School District
Davenport School District
Liberty School District
Medical Lake School District
Pullman School District
Reardan-Edwall School District
Ritzville School District
Wilbur School District

School Improvement Grants
Grandview School District
Highline School District
Longview School District
Marysville School District
Seattle Public Schools
Sunnyside School District
Tacoma School District
Wellpinit School District
Yakima School District

July 2011 Report to the Legislature
View the report:

Contact information

Jeanne Harmon
(360) 725-6116

Visit the TPEP Blog & Resource Site for a complete list of meeting dates and files, evaluation resources, FAQs, and a "Getting Started Toolkit" that highlights our most helpful files, links, and videos.


   Updated 6/22/2010

Old Capitol Building, PO Box 47200, 600 Washington St. S.E., Olympia, WA  98504-7200  360-725-6000  TTY 360-664-3631
Contact Us    |    A-Z Index    |    Site Info    |    Staff Only    |    Education Data System (EDS)