Press Releases - OSPI
LanguagesA-Z IndexPrinter Friendly Image

 For media inquiries,
 please contact:


   Twitter   Facebook    Email me Email


Four Schools, Two Districts Named STEM Lighthouse Schools

Will receive $20,000 and serve as mentors to other schools

OLYMPIA — March 9, 2017 — A total of four schools and two districts will serve as Science, Technology, Engineering and Math mentors to other schools in the state.

Known as STEM Lighthouse Schools, the six were recently awarded $20,000 grants each that will promote and develop STEM education, including technical assistance and advice for other elementary, middle, high schools, and districts that are developing their own STEM environments.

The six schools/districts are:

  • Brownsville Elementary (Central Kitsap School District)
  • Rochester High School (Rochester)
  • Eatonville Elementary School (Eatonville)
  • TAF Academy (Federal Way)
  • Lopez School District
  • Everett School District

“Many of our future jobs are going to require STEM skills,” said Chris Reykdal, Superintendent of Public Instruction. “Our Lighthouse schools have proven successful in getting their students that education. Having those schools share their success with other schools is a great example of the collaboration we have in Washington.”

STEM Lighthouse schools began in 2010, when the state Legislature passed House Bill 2621. The bill directs the Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction to designate lighthouse schools. The schools, according to the bill, will “serve as resources and examples of how to combine the following best practices:

  • Small, highly personalized learning communities;
  • An interdisciplinary curriculum with a strong focus on science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM), delivered through a project-based instructional approach; and
  • Active partnerships with businesses and the local community to connect learning beyond the classroom.”

Since 2011, a total of 36 schools and 6 districts have been named STEM Lighthouse schools.


About OSPI
The Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI) is the primary agency charged with overseeing K–12 education in Washington state. Led by State School Superintendent Chris Reykdal, OSPI works with the state’s 295 school districts and nine educational service districts to administer basic education programs and improve student achievement on behalf of more than one million public school students.

OSPI provides equal access to all programs and services without discrimination based on sex, race, creed, religion, color, national origin, age, honorably discharged veteran or military status, sexual orientation, gender expression or identity, the presence of any sensory, mental, or physical disability, or the use of a trained dog guide or service animal by a person with a disability. Questions and complaints of alleged discrimination should be directed to the Equity and Civil Rights Director at (360) 725-6162 or P.O. Box 47200, Olympia, WA 98504-7200.

Twitter | Facebook | Flickr

Nathan Olson
Communications Manager
(360) 725-6015 |

The OSPI Communications Office serves as the central point of contact for local, regional and national media covering K-12 education issues.

Communications Manager
Nathan Olson
(360) 725-6015


   Updated 3/9/2017

Old Capitol Building, PO Box 47200, 600 Washington St. S.E., Olympia, WA    98504-7200    360-725-6000  TTY 360-664-3631
Contact Us    |    Site Info    |    Staff Only    |    Privacy Policy