Press Releases - OSPI
LanguagesA-Z IndexPrinter Friendly Image

 For media inquiries,
 please contact:


   Twitter   Facebook    Email me Email


Washington State High School Artists Honored

Superintendent Reykdal announces annual Art Show winners

OLYMPIA — May 16, 2017 — The Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI) will host the 44th Annual Superintendent’s High School Art Show in Olympia.

The show, co-sponsored by OSPI and the Washington Art Education Association (WAEA), will be held May 19, 2017, from 1 p.m. to 3 p.m. at the OSPI building in Olympia. The awards ceremony will celebrate the high school artists whose work is being recognized as state winners and honorable mention recipients. All artwork by high school artists, whose work was selected for statewide competition as regional winners in their Educational Service District (ESD) shows across the state this spring, will be on display and recognized.

“I’m proud of our state for valuing the arts as an essential piece of education,” said Superintendent of Public Instruction Chris Reykdal. “Learning in and through the arts provides our students with a greater understanding of our world and strategies for learning, interpreting, and expressing their thoughts. The arts provide our students with one of the greatest forms of expression.”

In addition to OSPI, WAEA, and the Governor’s Choice, five organizations chose winners: State Board of Education (SBE), Professional Educators Standards Board (PESB), Washington Association of School Administrators (WASA), Washington State School Directors’ Association (WSSDA), and Association of Washington School Principals (AWSP). These groups will pay the artists $200, each, to purchase their award-winning artwork for their permanent collections.

This year’s six Judges’ Choice Awards were selected by a panel of 18 judges. The artists who win these awards also receive $200, each, and their artwork will be kept in OSPI’s permanent collection.

  • Miranda Reisenauer, “Under Construction” | Superintendent’s Award
    Hanford High School (Teacher: Kelley Muntean), ESD 123
  • Dixie Anderson, “Weaved Pot” | Judges’ Choice Award
    Battle Ground High School (Teacher: Tamra Galles), Southwest ESD 112
  • Delaney McEuin, “Preview” | WASA Award
    Richland High School (Teacher: Shawn Murphy), ESD 123
  • Amilia Anic, “The Monster Within” | Judges’ Choice Award
    Okanogan High School (Teacher: Dan Brown), ESD 171
  • Sarah Harris, “England’s Mermaid” | Governor’s Choice Award
    Marysville Arts and Technology HS (Teacher: Patricia Liburdy), ESD 189
  • Hailey Fisher, “Honor Your Character” | WSSDA Award
    Southridge High School (Teacher: Corrine Lechelt ESD 123
  • Lucy Bordner, “Amelia Bordner” | Judges’ Choice Award
    Chelan High School (Teacher: Sue Clouse), ESD 171
  • Ben Gregory, “Botanical Bird” | PESB Award
    Science and Math Institute (Teacher: Mary Mann), ESD 121
  • Kimi Hamilton, “Floating Feather” | Judges’ Choice Award
    Rogers High School (Teacher: Cindy Fabulich-Tate), ESD 121
  • Junghwa Cho, “Dances with Trees” | AWSP Award
    Hazen High School (Teacher: Michelle Madsen), ESD 121
  • Anna Mironyuk, “Kitty and Eye” | Judges’ Choice Award
    Ridgefield High School (Teacher: Tamara Hoodenpyl), ESD 112
  • Kyle Jones, “Boy in the Red Jacket” | OSPI Staff Award
    Richland High School (Teacher: Shawn Murphy), ESD 123
  • Meghan Obernberger, “1st and Holgate” | Judges’ Choice Award
    Issaquah High School (Teacher: Nicole Newton), ESD 121
  • Vyvianna Pruneda, “The Life of an Apple” | SBE Award
    Warden High School (Teacher: Burrwood Gehrke), ESD 171
  • Victoria Sepulveda, “What My Painting Sees” | WAEA Tribute Award*
    Shorecrest High School (Teacher: Laura King), ESD 121

Honorable Mention Award recipients are as follows:

  • Alice Ish, “Girl on Denim” | Honorable Mention Award
    Cedarcrest High School (Teacher: Andie Descheemaeker), ESD 121
  • Douglas Wescott, “Life is Oily” | Honorable Mention Award
    Elma High School (Teacher: Rob Beldin), ESD 113
  • Isabelle Henry, “Beauty Growing From the Wreckage” | Honorable Mention Award
    North Kitsap High School (Teacher: Eric Nieland), ESD 114
  • Teresita Rivera, “Immunity” | Honorable Mention Award
    Toppenish High School (Teacher: Laura Wise), ESD 105
  • Victoria Holm, “Loose” | Honorable Mention Award
    Shadle Park High School (Teacher: Darcy Saxton), ESD 101
  • Keaton Bruce, “I Think I’m Thinking” | Honorable Mention Award
    Kelso High School (Teacher: T.J. Frey), ESD 112
  • Maddi Everson, “Absent” | Honorable Mention Award
    Elma High School (Teacher: Rob Beldin), ESD 113
  • Marivel Macias, “Trapped Dreams” | Honorable Mention Award
    Kennewick High School (Teacher: Suzy Ard), ESD 123
  • Perla Vasquez, “Autumn Ruby” | Honorable Mention Award
    Auburn Riverside High School (Teacher: Kyle Rees), ESD 121

* Every year, WAEA chooses their winning piece to honor their “Tribute Award” winner. This award is given to outstanding arts educators, arts advocates and businesses nominated by the WAEA membership. This year’s Tribute Award winner is Ginny Lane, art teacher from the North Thurston School District.

More information


About OSPI
The Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI) is the primary agency charged with overseeing K–12 education in Washington state. Led by State School Superintendent Chris Reykdal, OSPI works with the state’s 295 school districts and nine educational service districts to administer basic education programs and improve student achievement on behalf of more than one million public school students.

OSPI provides equal access to all programs and services without discrimination based on sex, race, creed, religion, color, national origin, age, honorably discharged veteran or military status, sexual orientation, gender expression or identity, the presence of any sensory, mental, or physical disability, or the use of a trained dog guide or service animal by a person with a disability. Questions and complaints of alleged discrimination should be directed to the Equity and Civil Rights Director at (360) 725-6162 or P.O. Box 47200, Olympia, WA 98504-7200.

Twitter | Facebook | Flickr

Nathan Olson
Communications Manager
(360) 725-6015 |

The OSPI Communications Office serves as the central point of contact for local, regional and national media covering K-12 education issues.

Communications Manager
Nathan Olson
(360) 725-6015


   Updated 5/16/2017

Old Capitol Building, PO Box 47200, 600 Washington St. S.E., Olympia, WA    98504-7200    360-725-6000  TTY 360-664-3631
Contact Us    |    Site Info    |    Staff Only    |    Privacy Policy