Press Releases - OSPI
LanguagesA-Z IndexPrinter Friendly Image

For media inquiries, please contact: 



Four State Schools Earn Prestigious National Award
Education Secretary Duncan names 2010 Blue Ribbon Schools

OLYMPIA — September 10, 2010 — Four Washington state schools were among 304 nationwide named Wednesday by U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan as 2010 Blue Ribbon Schools.

Centennial Elementary School (Olympia School District), P.J. Jantz (Odessa), Rock Island Elementary School (Eastmont) and Tekoa High School (Tekoa) were nominated by State Superintendent Randy Dorn last winter. The schools were then asked to complete a detailed and challenging application, which was reviewed by the national selection committee.

“I’m very proud of the achievement and improvement that these four schools have shown,” Dorn said. “Everybody in their schools works hard and works together to make sure that all students learn.”

Secretary Duncan announced the 2010 Blue Ribbon Schools at School Without Walls Senior High School, a 2010 Blue Ribbon School in Washington, D.C.

“Our nation has a responsibility to help all children realize their full potential,” Duncan said. “Schools honored with the Blue Ribbon Schools award are committed to achievement and to ensuring that students learn and succeed. Their work reflects the conviction that every child has promise and must receive a quality education.”

The Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors schools based on one of two criteria:

  • Schools whose students are high performing, regardless of their backgrounds, based on performance on state or nationally-normed tests; and
  • Schools with at least 40 percent of their students from disadvantaged backgrounds that improve student performance to high levels as measured by the school’s performance on state or nationally-normed tests.

A total of 413 schools can be nominated nationally. The total is determined by the number of schools and the student population in each state, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico. Public schools are nominated by each state’s chief state school officer; private schools are nominated by the Council for American Private Education. The 2010 Blue Ribbon Schools will be honored by Secretary Duncan at an awards ceremony in Washington, DC, on November 15-16, 2010.

School Contacts:

Centennial Elementary School
2637 45th Avenue SE
Olympia, WA 98501-4864
Phone: (360) 596-8300
Principal: Mrs. Alice Drummer

P.C. Jantz Elementary School
311 South 1st Street
PO Box 248
Odessa, WA 99159-0248
Phone: (509) 982-2111
Principal: Mr. Ken Schutz

Rock Island Elementary School
5645 Rock Island Road
Rock Island, WA 98850-9528
Phone: (509) 884-5023
Principal: Ms. Susan Kane

Tekoa High School
513 East Henkle
P.O. Box 869
Tekoa, WA 99033-0869
Phone: (509) 284-3401
Principal: Mr. Wayne Roellich


About OSPI

The Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI) is the primary agency charged with overseeing K-12 education in Washington state. Led by State School Superintendent Randy Dorn, OSPI works with the state’s 295 school districts and nine Educational Service Districts to administer basic education programs and implement education reform on behalf of more than one million public school students.

OSPI does not discriminate and provides equal access to its programs and services for all persons without regard to race, color, gender, religion, creed, marital status, national origin, sexual preference/orientation, age, veteran’s status or the presence of any physical, sensory or mental disability.

Nathan Olson
OSPI Communications Manager
(360) 725-6015

Twitter | Facebook | Flickr

For More Information

No Child Left Behind Blue Ribbon Schools Program

Washington's Blue Ribbon Schools Program


   Updated 9/16/2010

Old Capitol Building, PO Box 47200, 600 Washington St. S.E., Olympia, WA  98504-7200  360-725-6000  TTY 360-664-3631
Contact Us    |    A-Z Index    |    Site Info    |    Staff Only    |    Education Data System (EDS)